Communalism Combat  
  - Archives  
  - Feedback  
  - Subscription  
 - Advertising
 - Other Publications
 - Combat Themes


  - About Khoj  
  - Teaching Tolerance  
  - Khoj for Teachers  
  - History  
 - Quiz for Kids
 - Articles on Khoj




  Padmashree honour  for Teesta Setalvad

  On January 15, 2007 Teesta Setalvad was honoured with the Nani A Palkhivala Civil Liberties Award, 2006.
Here is the full text of her acceptance speech.

  ‘Knight of the Order of Merit’ awarded by the President of the French Republic, Mr. Jacques Chirac to Javed Anand along with 6 other social activists from India at an awards ceremony in Mumbai on January 12, 2005.

‘Gaurav Puraskar’, on the occasion of the birth anniversary of Rashtramata KrantiJyoti, Savitrimai Phule, awarded to Teesta Setalvad by the Samrat Cultural and Social Trust, Mumbai on January 3, 2005.

‘Vijay Zarapkar Award for Social Activist’ awarded by the Keshav Gore Trust, Mumbai and instituted by the Maharashtra Foundation to
Teesta Setalvad along with 5 others. on January 1, 2005

‘Siva Prasad Barooah Award for Journalism 2002’ awarded by the
Kamal Kumari Foundation to Teesta Setalvad on November 28, 2004.

  Parliamentarians for Global Action’s ‘2004 Defenders’ of Democracy Award’ to Teesta Setalvad for her efforts as secretary, Citizens for Justice and Peace to ensure justice for the victims of the genocide in Gujarat and to Rt. Hn. Helen Clerk, Prime Minister of New Zealand, for her endeavours to ensure a nuclear-free world.

Vigil India’s ‘M. A. Thomas National Human Rights Award, 2004’ to Teesta Setalvad.   

  Vocational Excellence Award for Community Service for Communal Harmony, Rotary Club, Mumbai West to Teesta Setalvad, October 2003


  Nuremberg International Human Rights Award 2003, awarded jointly to Teesta Setalvad and Ibn Abdur Rehman (Pakistan), September 2003

Click here for special Message from Kofi Annan (UN Secretary General)


  Staines International Award for Religious Harmony jointly awarded to Teesta Setalvad and Admiral Ramdas, August 2003


  3rd Prakash Kapley International Solidarity Award (PKISA) December 2002.


  Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavna Award 2002, awarded jointly to Teesta Setalvad and Harsh Mander, Action Aid, India, August 2002


The Xaviers Institute of Communications Father Divakar Communucation for Peace Award, January 2002.


  The Pax Christi International Human Rights Award, October 2001.


  The Prince Claus Award 2000 (Netherlands), “in recognition of exceptional initiatives in the field of journalism and development”, to Communalism Combat. Since 1997, the annual Prince Claus Awards (named after HRH Prince Claus of Netherlands) have been presented “to people and organisations to recognise and encourage their exceptional achievements in the field of culture and development in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean”, December 2000


  The Human Rights Award 2000 instituted by the Dalit Liberation Education Trust, Chennai, Tamil Naidu; to Teesta Setalvad, December 2000


  The Ramkrishna Jaidayal Harmony Award (1999) from the Organisation of Understanding and Fraternity, Delhi; to Communalism Combat, Khoj and Aman, December 1999


  Maharana Mewar Foundation’s Hakim Khan Sur award, 1998-1999 to Javed Anand and Teesta Setalvad, April 1999


  The Ramkrishna Jaidayal Harmony Award (1998) from the Organisation of Understanding and Fraternity, Delhi for excellence in writing on communal harmony in English, December 1998


  (Among other things, both citations made special reference to interceptions of police wireless message during the January, 1993 riots which expose the anti-Muslim bias of the force.

Besides, the national press, the story was picked up by BBC,  CNN and ‘The New York Times’. Was also interviewed by CNN)


Recipient, “Chameli Devi Jain Award for Outstanding Woman Journalist, 1993, January 1993


  Recipient, “PUCL Journalism For Human Rights Awards, 1993, March 1993  

Feedback | About Us
Sabrang Communications India 2004 All rights reserved.